PDA

View Full Version : Huge step forward in my career

Stick-N-Rudder
06-02-2009, 18:44:08
When I first arrived at PPW, I was a flight instructor with about 1000 hours. I was struggling to build multi time. I constantly was on the lookout for another job that would take me to the next rung on the ladder. I couldn't find it.

On one of my online searches for a job, I accidentally stumbled upon PPW. The fee was small so I figured, "Why not?" I joined and I was quickly hooked. At first I didn't post much. Instead I just read what all the experienced people were saying. Not long after, I was posting and getting to know some of the fellow members. I'd ask questions and learn from other people's experiences. I never realized how much I didn't know.

I asked for advice on how I should progress with my career. I quickly found many willing people to share their thoughts and suggestions. The advice I got was to fly freight. Soon enough, someone posted a job ad for Flight Express. I jumped on the opportunity and I became a freight dog. I was quickly building experience and putting hours in my logbook. Unfortunately, I wasn't building much needed multi-time.

I found a woman on the board who is a professional Resume Writer. I had her build a resume for me and began sending it out. Unfortunately, I didn't possess enough multi time to arrive at the job I desired.

Then one day, out of the blue, a fellow member posted an entry level jet job. I quickly jumped on the thread and emailed my resume. Just a few days later I was invited for the interview and got the job! I was off to fly a Citation, with only 120 hours of multi time! The job he posted had never even made it to the big job boards like Climbto350. He gave the members of PPW the first shot!